The Big Move

IMG_0645Sometimes when we think life can’t get any weirder, it does. Sometimes you lose people you think you are going to have for the rest of your life. Friendships fall and loves fizzle into nothing and disappear. What I have learned is your personal health and well being is more important than anything else in this world. Sometimes you have to be selfish in order to stay sane in this weird life. So I did. I left a friendship that was turning toxic. I left a relationship that I was outgrowing. I moved off campus. I did all these things because they were right decisions for me. I made the big move.

Turning this into a Wise Words worthy post: DO NOT BE AFRAID TO BE A LITTLE SELFISH SOMETIMES FOR YOUR MENTAL AND PHYSICAL HEALTH. Coming from someone who does struggle with depression, the best thing you can do is take care of yourself. Love yourself. Be proud of yourself. I can safely say that I am worlds happier at this place in my life than I was last month. I have stronger bonds with my friends and I have learned I have great strength in my own way.

Are people talking shit about me?     Absolutely.

Do I care?     At first, yes. Then I realized I have apologized for my mistakes and so I have nothing more to feel bad about. So no, I don’t care. People talk shit, gossip, twist stories, cry wolf, and seek pity. I have the best friends behind me and that’s all I could ever ask for.

At the end of the day everything happens for a reason. People come and go in your life, unfortunately sometimes people who you thought cared about you or were incredibly important. Through all of this, things work out in the end and get so much better.

Stay strong, friends!

-Ashley

Leave a Reply

